1 2  2 2  3
The Northeast Nebraska Economic Development District hosted its 2021-22 Annual Meeting on Thursday, July 28, at The Stables.

During the meeting, Dr. Leah Barrett, President of Northeast Community College, spoke about “Partnerships to Promote Rural Vitality: The Role of Community Colleges in Economic Development.”

Dr. Leah Barrett 2
Dr. Leah Barrett, President of Northeast Community College, speaks to those attending NENEDD’s 2021-22 Annual Meeting on July 28.

Numerous award winners also were recognized for their contribution to economic development in Northeast Nebraska in 2021-22.

Receiving the Doug Bereuter Accomplished Community Award was the City of Columbus.

City of Columbus
Accepting the Doug Bereuter Accomplished Community Award for the City of Columbus were (from left): Tara Vasicek, City Administrator; and Jim Bulkley, Mayor. NENEDD Executive Director Thomas L. Higginbotham (right) presented the awards during the Annual Meeting.

The Housing Partnership Award recipient was Kristen Dendinger of Bank of Hartington.

Kristen Dendinger 2
Kristen Dendinger of the Bank of Hartington was the
recipient of the Housing Partnership Award.

The Entrepreneurial Advancement Award went to Knox County.
Knox County
Accepting the Entrepreneurial Advancement Award on behalf of Knox County were (fnrom left): Colette Panning, Knox County Economic Development Board President and Bloomfield City Administrator; Stacy Miller, Knox County Economic Development Assistant; and Kelly Havey, Knox County Economic Development Director.

Lastly, the recipient of the Outstanding Service Award was Jan Wietfeld.
Jan Wietfeld
Jan Wietfeld, recent retiree of Citizens State Bank,
received the Outstanding Service Award.

Congratulations goes out to all of the awardees. Thank you for your hard work and dedication to the communities and counties we serve.

For more information on the award winners, take a look at NENEDD’s 2021-22 Annual Report by clicking here: Annual Report.