Fair Housing?

Fair Housing is the right for all people to have safe, decent housing and be able to get this housing without discrimination. City, State, and Federal Fair Housing Laws require that all people have an equal opportunity to buy, rent, or live in housing.

Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act), as amended, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians, pregnant women, and people securing custody of children under the age of 18), and handicap (disability). Please click here for additional information regarding Fair Housing Laws.

The Fair Housing Act covers most housing. In some circumstances, the Act exempts owner-occupied buildings with no more than four units, single-family housing sold or rented without the use of a broker, and housing operated by organizations and private clubs that limit occupancy to members.

Federal Fair Housing Laws prohibit discrimination based on: Race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status (children in the home), and disability (physical and mental).

On the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability or familial status, no one may:

* Sale and Rental of Housing: Refuse to rent or sell housing; refuse to negotiate for housing; make housing unavailable; falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale or rental; set different terms, conditions, or privileges for the sale or rental of a housing unit; provide different housing services or facilities; deny anyone access to or membership in a facility or service (such as a multiple listing service) related to the sale or rental of housing

* Mortgage Lending: Refuse to make a mortgage loan; refuse to provide information regarding loans; impose different terms or conditions on a loan, such as different interest rates, points or fees; discriminate in appraising property; refuse to purchase a loan; set different terms or conditions for purchasing a loan

* Exercising Fair Housing Rights: Threaten, coerce, intimidate or interfere with anyone exercising a fair housing right or assisting others to exercise that right.

* Advertising: Advertise or make any statement that indicates a limitation or preference based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or disability. This applies to single-family and owner-occupied housing that is otherwise exempt from the Fair Housing Act.

Housing discrimination often comes with “a smile and a handshake.” While commonly experienced, discrimination can be subtle, friendly, and often difficult to pin down. If you have any reason to believe that you have been the victim of housing discrimination, please call us toll-free at 1-877-NOW-FAIR to discuss the situation.

If you feel that you have been discriminated against in the sale or rental of property, you can file an administrative complaint within one year after the act has occurred or a private action within two years of the act. The complaint must be based on the belief that race, color, sex, religion, familial status, disability and/or National origin status was the reason for the alleged discriminatory act.

If you have questions about the meaning and application of the law, or questions on how to file a complaint, please contact the Fair Housing staff at 402.934.6675 or toll-free at 800.639.5853 (800-NOW-FAIR). Nebraska Relay, contact 800.833.0920 (voice) or 800.833.7352 (TTY).

Are You a Victim of Fair Housing Discrimination?

NE Fair Housing Act

Fair Housing Center of Nebraska-Iowa – File an administrative complaint for alleged discriminatory acts

Legal Aid of Nebraska – Provides free civil legal services for low income people

Nebraska Equal Opportunity Commission – Authorized to enforce Fair Housing Act Statutes

Department of Housign & Urban Development – Enforcement role in Fair Housing Act: Learn Fair Housing Laws and Presidential Executive Orders

Fair Housing Laws

Landlord & Tenant Act